top of page

  In January 1999 the fellowship began meeting every Sunday. That was also the month we began publishing our newletter, The Engine. In Summer  1999, June Stratton became president and Kathleen Gorak became religious education director.


  In January 2000, the fellowship achieved its long sought after goal of affiliation with the Unitarian Universalist Association of Congregations, as a member of the UUA's Mid-South District.


  Emily Brault became our facilitator in the summer of 2000 and served until July of 2001, conducting two services a month. We had a combination of lay-led services and visiting speakers during her tenure.


  In January 2001, Barry Kitterman became our president, while Richard Yarbro continued into his second year as vice president and chairman of the Worship Committee. During the summer of 2001, after Emily's departure, the fellowship's services were lay led. This continues today, with guest speakers invited about once a month to supplement the efforts of our members.


  In the fall of 2001 the Building Committee, with Cleo Hogan as chairman, found a property in the Sango area of Clarksville that appeared to meet the fellowship's needs. The Finance Committee, under Terry Peacher, was able to negotiate financing for the purchase of our first "home," which was approved in November by the membership - with the enthusiastic encouragement of Jim Fitch, leading the presentation to the Fellowship Meeting. As of Dec. 3, 2001, services were moved from the lovely old Train Station to our current home on Highway 41A South.


In September 2014, the fellowship dedicated our sanctuary expansion, made possible through the generosity of Dr. Terry Peacher and the hard work and dedication of our members and friends.



How We Came To Be:

The Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Clarksville first met on July 12, 1992. Cleo Hogan served as president from 1992 through 1997, during which time adult religious discussions were held twice a month, on the first and third Sunday evenings at the homes of fellowship members. In February 1998, Evette Cobb Strickland became president; in May the meeting place was moved to Archwood, on the campus of Austin Peay State University; in June the fellowship began meeting at 10:30 a.m. and Meredith Garmon became the congregation's facilitator; in July 1998, Religious Education for children and youth began with Sheri DiGiovanna as director.


In August of that year the fellowship moved to larger facilities in the Montgomery County Historical Society Building on the corner Tenth and Commerce Streets. This building is the historic L&N Train Station.



bottom of page